Kunsthalle Bremen
Am Wall 207
(0421) 32908-0 FAX (0421) 32908-47
Der Kunstpreis der Boettcherstrasse in Bremen
dal 15/9/2012 al 15/12/2012

Segnalato da

Jasmin Mickein

calendario eventi  :: 


Der Kunstpreis der Boettcherstrasse in Bremen

Kunsthalle Bremen, Bremen

The award presents Ten Promising Positions in Contemporary Art: Abel Auer, Gerry Bibby, Kerstin Bratsch, Marianna Christofides, Dani Gal, Karl Holmqvist, Daniel Knorr, Harald Thys & Jos de Gruyter, Jorinde Voigt, and Hannes Zebedin.

comunicato stampa

Major Award for Contemporary Art presents Ten Promising Positions in Contemporary Art

One of the oldest and most important awards for young artists in Germany, the Kunstpreis der Böttcherstraße in Bremen, with a prize money of 30,000 Euros, is being presented in Bremen for the 43rd time this year. Ten prominent curators – including Bice Curiger and Hans Ulrich Obrist – have proposed an artist each for the exhibition which takes place from 16 September to 16 December 2012 in the Kunsthalle Bremen. A jury of five prominent curators will decide on the prize-winner over the course of the exhibition. A catalogue is published for the exhibition.

The award honours artists working and living in the German-speaking countries whose work has ‘not yet received the attention the quality of their work deserves’. A group of supporters not only finance the award, exhibition and catalogue but also enable the Kunsthalle to acquire a work by the winner. In this way, the collection of the Kunsthalle Bremen has been enriched over the past two decades with acquisitions of works by Olafur Eliasson, Tino Sehgal, Ulla von Brandenburg, Olaf Nicolai, Thea Djordjadze and others. Among the past prize-winners and nominees for the prize are many who subsequently have attracted great international attention. They include Wofgang Tillmans and Tomma Abts, who later also received the Turner Prize, and Dirk Skreber, who won the Preis für Junge Kunst of the Nationalgalerie Berlin.

The following artists have been nominated for the Kunstpreis der Böttcherstraße 2012 (nominator in brackets):
Abel Auer (Christoph Grunenberg, Kunsthalle Bremen); Gerry Bibby (Hans Ulrich Obrist, Serpentine Gallery, London); Kerstin Brätsch (Beatrix Ruf, Kunsthalle Zürich); Marianna Christofides (Eva Schmidt, Museum für Gegenwartskunst Siegen); Dani Gal (Susanne Pfeffer, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin); Karl Holmqvist (Bice Curiger, Kunsthaus Zürich); Daniel Knorr (Adam Szymczyk, Kunsthalle Basel); Harald Thys & Jos de Gruyter (Nicolaus Schafhausen, Kunsthalle Wien); Jorinde Voigt (Stifterkreis für den Kunstpreis der Böttcherstraße in Bremen); and Hannes Zebedin (Silvia Eiblmayr, freelance curator, Vienna).

Press contact
Jasmin Mickein T 0421 329 08-380 mickein@kunsthalle-bremen.de

Kunsthalle Bremen
Am Wall 207 D - 28195 Bremen
Opening Hours
Wednesday to Sunday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Tuesday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Monday closed

Last Year in Marienbad
dal 13/11/2015 al 12/3/2016

Attiva la tua LINEA DIRETTA con questa sede