Prison Sainte Anne

The Disappearance of the fireflies
dal 16/5/2014 al 24/11/2014
Segnalato da

Collection Lambert


Adel Abdessemed
Francis Alys
William Anastasi
Kader Attia
Miroslaw Balka
Roger Ballen
Robert Barry
Yael Bartana
Massimo Bartolini
Jean-Michel Basquiat
Niel Beloufa
Joseph Beuys
Barbara Bloom
Alighiero Boetti
Christian Boltanski
Pierre Bonnard
Louise Bourgeois
Marcel Broodthaers
Tom Burr
Mircea Cantor
Frederic-Auguste Cazals
Claire Fontaine
Guy de Cointet
François-Xavier Courreges
Berlinde De Bruyckere
Jason Dodge
Trisha Donnelly
Gardar Eide Einarsson
Mounir Fatmi
Hans-Peter Feldmann
Spencer Finch
Mario Garcia Torres
Anna Gaskell
Kendell Geers
Jean Genet
Nan Goldin
Dominique Gonzalez Foerster
Douglas Gordon
Loris Greaud
Joao Maria Gusmao
Pedro Paiva
Henrik Hakansson
Keith Haring
Mona Hatoum
Candida Hofer
Jenny Holzer
Roni Horn
Jonathan Horowitz
Joris Ivens
Joan Jonas
William E. Jones
Ilia Kabakov
On Kawara
Zilvinas Kempinas
Anselm Kiefer
Julius Koller
Jiri Kovanda
Barbara Kruger
David Lamelas
Bertrand Lavier
Zoe Leonard
Claude Leveque
Glenn Ligon
Richard Long
Jill Magid
Anna Maria Maiolino
Christian Marclay
Gordon Matta-Clark
Allan McCollum
Adam McEwen
Ana Mendieta
Melvin Moti
Vik Muniz
Deimantas Narkevicius
Cady Noland
Roman Ondak
Roman Opalka
Jean-Michel Pancin
Philippe Parreno
Pier Paolo Pasolini
Yan Pei-Ming
Adam Pendleton
Mathieu Pernot
Walid Raad
Ugo Rondinone
Martha Rosler
Anri Sala
Markus Schinwald
Yann Serandour
Richard Serra
Andres Serrano
Ross Sinclair
Kiki Smith
Nedko Solakov
Haim Steinbach
Jana Sterbak
Pascale Marthine Tayou
Alessandra Tesi
Miroslav Tichy
Wolfgang Tillmans
Niele Toroni
Cy Twombly
Xavier Veilhan
Paul Verlaine
Francesco Vezzoli
Franz Erhard Walther
Andy Warhol
Lawrence Weiner
Ai Weiwei
Remy Zaugg
Chen Zhen

calendario eventi  :: 


The Disappearance of the fireflies

Prison Sainte Anne, Avignon

The Collection Lambert will occupy the cells, corridors and certain courtyards of the prison, to exhibit works from the prestigious private collection of Enea Righi. The title is borrowed from the famous text published by Pasolini in 1975 in the Corriere, which will impregnate visitors' entire collection tour. Works by Francis Alys, Massimo Bartolini, Joseph Beuys, Trisha Donnelly, Richard Long, Roman Opalka, Andy Warhol, Lawrence Weiner, Ai Weiwei and many others.

comunicato stampa

The year 2014 marks a watershed for the Collection Lambert in Avignon. Indeed, so as to offer an exceptional home to the important donation made by Yvon Lambert to the French state, comprising 556 contemporary artworks, the Collection Lambert must close its doors to the public until the summer of 2015 during the site's extension.

The museum staff decided to take advantage of this imposed closure to pursue a unique, important project combining contemporary art, retrospection and the showcasing of heritage. Thus was born "The Disappearance of the Fireflies", an ambitious project beginning in late May 2014 and housed at the Sainte-Anne Prison. This emblematic heritage site for the town of Avignon, located behind the Papal Palace, this edifice – closed a decade ago – is a rare example of a purpose-built prison dating from the end of the 18th century (rather than representing a reconverted convent, hospital or military barracks).

The Collection Lambert will occupy the cells, corridors and certain courtyards of the prison, to exhibit works from the prestigious private collection of Enea Righi. The title is borrowed from the famous text published by Pasolini in 1975 in the Corriere, which will impregnate visitors' entire collection tour; indeed, this exhibition is meant to be a sensorial experience in which the memory-steeped locations and their hosted artworks will come together and interact in the manner of the Italian director's beloved fireflies. The theme of "imprisonment" will naturally be evoked, as well as "the passage of time", "solitude" and "love".

So as to maintain an intense and meaningful dialogue between the edifice and its housed oeuvres, the decision has been made to leave the Sainte-Anne Prison unaltered. Exhibited within its cell, each work of art thereby becomes a firefly, a poetic element of soft resistant light, offering spectators the possibility of experiencing a novel experimental field.

This ambitious project will be complemented by a rich cultural events programme. Video projections, readings, performances and encounters linked to the exhibition and the site's history will be organized throughout the length of the exhibition, while educational projects will also be organized for schools and for associations active in the prison environment.

The artists:
Adel Abdessemed, Francis Alÿs, William Anastasi, Kader Attia, Mirosław Bałka, Roger Ballen, Robert Barry, Yael Bartana, Massimo Bartolini, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Niel Beloufa, Joseph Beuys, Barbara Bloom, Alighiero Boetti, Christian Boltanski, Pierre Bonnard, Louise Bourgeois, Brassaï, Marcel Broodthaers, Tom Burr, Mircea Cantor, Frédéric-Auguste Cazals, Claire Fontaine, Guy de Cointet, François-Xavier Courrèges, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Jason Dodge, Trisha Donnelly, Gardar Eide Einarsson, Mounir Fatmi, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Spencer Finch, Mario Garcia Torres, Anna Gaskell, Kendell Geers, Jean Genet, Nan Goldin, Dominique Gonzalez Foerster, Douglas Gordon, Loris Gréaud, João Maria Gusmao et Pedro Paiva, Henrik Håkansson, Keith Haring, Mona Hatoum, Candida Höfer, Jenny Holzer, Roni Horn, Jonathan Horowitz, Joris Ivens, Joan Jonas, William E. Jones, Ilia Kabakov, On Kawara, Žilvinas Kempinas, Anselm Kiefer, Kimsooja, Július Koller, Jiri Kovanda, Barbara Kruger, David Lamelas, Bertrand Lavier, Zoe Leonard, Claude Lévêque, Glenn Ligon, Richard Long, Jill Magid, Anna Maria Maiolino, Christian Marclay, Gordon Matta-Clark, Allan McCollum, Adam McEwen, Ana Mendieta, Melvin Moti, Vik Muniz, Deimantas Narkevicius, Cady Noland, Roman Ondák, Roman Opalka, Jean-Michel Pancin, Philippe Parreno, Pier Paolo Pasolini, Yan Pei-Ming, Adam Pendleton, Mathieu Pernot, Walid Raad, Ugo Rondinone, Martha Rosler, Anri Sala, Markus Schinwald, Yann Sérandour, Richard Serra, Andres Serrano, Ross Sinclair, Kiki Smith, Nedko Solakov, Haim Steinbach, Jana Sterbak, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Alessandra Tesi, Miroslav Tichý, Wolfgang Tillmans, Niele Toroni, Cy Twombly, Xavier Veilhan, Paul Verlaine, Francesco Vezzoli, Franz Erhard Walther, Andy Warhol, Lawrence Weiner, Ai Weiwei, Rémy Zaugg, Chen Zhen.

An exhibition catalogue will be released in partnership with the publishing house Actes Sud, with texts by Philippe Artières and Georges Didi-Huberman.

A first extensive collaboration will be initiated with the new team of the Avignon Festival.

La disparition des lucioles / Graphic design Antoine et Manuel

Opening: 17 May 2014

Prison Sainte Anne
Avignon France
Horaires de 11 - 19
Tarifs: full 10 €, reduced 8 €.

The Disappearance of the fireflies
dal 16/5/2014 al 24/11/2014

Attiva la tua LINEA DIRETTA con questa sede