calendario eventi  :: 


Instanbul Biennial

Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts, Istanbul

Based on the idea of relationship between art and politics the 8th International Turkish Biennal proposes more than 80 artists from 42 countries

comunicato stampa

The 8th International Istanbul Biennial organised by the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts will take place between 19 September - 16 November, 2003 and will be sponsored by Japan Tobacco International, Turkey. The 8th Istanbul Biennial will be curated by Dan Cameron who has been the Senior Curator at the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York since 1995.

The artistic framework of the 8th International Istanbul Biennial is formed around the concept of Poetic Justice. In proposing this phrase as the basis for a sustained investigation into the latest developments in contemporary art, the exhibition seeks to articulate an area of creative activity in which the seemingly opposing concepts of poetry and justice are brought into play together. The 8th Istanbul Biennial will raise the questions of "What is justice? Why has justice emerged today as a question of pressing concern? Is justice possible in today's globalised world?".

The 8th International Istanbul Biennial will utilise four main venues and a number of satellite venues around the city. The main venues are the Antrepo 4 Exhibition Hall a 4.000 square meters former warehouse on the shore of the Bosphorous, the Tophane-i Amire Cultural Centre, a war-cannon manufacturing facility and barracks that was constructed in 1451, now turned into an exhibition space and the Yerebatan Cistern, built by Justinian in 532 to store water for the Great Palace during Byzantine Empire and the Haghia Sophia Museum, one of the greatest architectural landmarks of the world.

The 8th International Istanbul Biennial will host 85 artists from 42 countries. The artists who are invited to participate in the 8th International Istanbul Biennial are:

Can Altay (Turkey), David Altmejd (Canada), Alexander Apostol (Venezuela), Knut Åsdam (Norway), Kutlug Ataman (Turkey), Fikret Atay (Turkey), Txomin Badiola (Spain), Kim Beom (Korea), Zarina Bhimji (Uganda/UK), Monica Bonvicini (Italy), Tania Bruguera (Cuba), Fernando Bryce (Peru/Germany), Gerard Byrne (Ireland), Alberto Casado (Cuba), Filipa César (Portugal), Taner Ceylan (Turkey), Attila Csörgõ (Hungary), Minerva Cuevas (Mexico), Ergin Çavusoglu (Turkey), Danica Dakic (Bosnia-Herzegovina/Germany), Stephen Dean (France/USA), Willie Doherty (Ireland/UK), Song Dong (China), Cevdet Erek - Emre Erkal (Turkey), Esra Ersen (Turkey), Bruna Esposito (Italy), Tony Feher (USA), Dora Garcia (Spain/Belgium), Kendell Geers (South Africa/Belgium), Ann Hamilton (USA), Trenton Doyle Hancock (USA), Runa Islam (Bangladesh/ UK), Emily Jacir (Palestine), Yeondoo Jung (Korea), Shahram Karimi (Iran/Germany), Hassan Khan (Egypt), Lucia Koch (Brazil), Andreja Kuluncic (Croatia), Surasi Kusolwong (Thailand), Annika Larsson (Sweden), Nikki S. Lee (Korea), José Legaspi (Philippines), Rogelio López Cuenca (Spain), Liisa Lounila (Finland), Jorge Macchi (Argentina), DeAnna Maganias (Greece), Nalini Malani (India), Marepe (Brazil), Marlene McCarty (USA), Julie Mehretu (Ethiopia/USA), Cildo Meireles (Brazil), Bjørn Melhus (Germany), Aernout Mik (Netherlands), Zwelethu Mthethwa (South Africa), Mike Nelson (UK), Jun Nguyen-Hatsushiba (Vietnam), Paul Noble (UK), Jockum Nordström (Sweden), Walter Obholzer (Austria), Oda Projesi (Turkey), Marcel Odenbach (Germany), Yoshua Okon (Mexico), Raquel Ormella (Australia), Tsuyoshi Ozawa (Japan), Bruno Peinado (France), Marjetica Potrc (Slovenia), Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook (Thailand), Michael Riley (Australia), Anri Sala (Albania/France), Doris Salcedo (Colombia), Seifollah Samadian (Iran), Peter Sarkisian (USA), Efrat Shvily (Israel), Shahzia Sikander (Pakistan/USA), Monika Sosnowska (Poland), Jennifer Steinkamp (USA), Hiroshi Sugito (Japan), Do-Ho Suh (Korea/USA), Fiona Tan (Indonesia/Netherlands), Pascale Marthine Tayou (Cameroon/Belgium), Lina Theodorou (Greece), Milica Tomic (Serbia), Uri Tzaig - Avi Shaham (Israel), (Turkey), Jasmila Zbanic (Bosnia-Herzegovina)

Istanbul Biennial
Press & Public Relations
Tel : +90 212 334 07 57
Fax: +90 212 334 07 16

Istanbul Design Biennial - Open Call
dal 18/2/2012 al 1/6/2012

Attiva la tua LINEA DIRETTA con questa sede